19 Apr 2016 Awards

Compass Lexecon Wins Competition Economics Firm of the Year for the Second Straight Year

2 minute read


Another Win for Professor Janusz Ordover as Competition Economist of the Year for 2016

Compass Lexecon is proud to announce that we were named the Competition Economics Firm of the Year for 2016 at the 3rd Annual Who's Who Legal Awards in New York on April 11, 2016. At the same awards ceremony, Compass Lexecon's Professor Janusz Ordover was named the Competition Economist of the Year for 2016. This is the second year in a row that Compass Lexecon and Janusz Ordover have received their respective awards.

Professor Ordover was a co-founder of Compass and now serves as a Senior Consultant with Compass Lexecon and member of the firm's Advisory Committee. He is also an Emeritus Professor of Economics at New York University and was the Deputy Assistant Attorney General for Economics in the Antitrust Division of the U.S. Department of Justice in the early 1990s. He has had a highly distinguished academic career writing seminal articles on a range of issues, including – among other topics – predatory pricing; vertical restraints; and merger policy. Professor Ordover had previously been named the Economist of the Year (2011) by the Global Competition Review.

In addition, Who's Who Legal released its list of Who's Who in Competition Economics. Compass Lexecon had 30 experts including four academic affiliates from seven countries nominated. Four Compass Lexecon experts — Dennis Carlton, Janusz Ordover, Jonathan Orszag, and Jorge Padilla -- were named among the 10 Most Highly Regarded Individuals in Competition Economics. A full list of the Compass Lexecon experts included in the Who's Who of Competition Economists can be found here.

In its analysis, Who's Who Legal called Professor Carlton "brilliant"; Professor Ordover "simply as good as it gets"; Mr. Orszag "a real star"; Professor Richard Gilbert "absolutely fantastic"; Professor Dan Rubinfeld "revered"; Professor Robert Willig "someone we all look up to"; Margaret Guerin-Calvert "a true ambassador for the practice of competition economics"; Mary Coleman "careful and experienced"; Lorenzo Coppi as the "go-to person in Brussels"; and Neil Dryden "a first-class analytical mind."

The Who's Who Legal Awards are based on a number of factors, including general feedback received in a research process, past performance in the research and the overall aggregate number of weighted votes cast by clients, fellow economists and private practitioners around the world. While the Who's Who Legal Awards have been presented since 2005, this is the second time awards have been presented for Competition Economics Firm of the Year and Competition Economist of the Year.

A new version of Compass Lexecon is available.