04 Jun 2018 Awards

Compass Lexecon Named Competition Economics Firm of the Year for the Fourth Straight Year

3 minute read


Compass Lexecon is proud to announce that we were named the Competition Economics Firm of the Year for 2018 for the fourth year in a row at the Who's Who Legal Awards in London on May 8, 2018. In addition, Who's Who Legal released its list of the best antitrust and competition economists in the world. Compass Lexecon had 42 of its experts — located in six countries — included in this list; that's more than any other firm. A full list of the Compass Lexecon experts included in the analysis can be found here.
Who's Who Legal also identified those "truly outstanding practitioners" who received the highest number of nominations from "their peers, corporate counsel, and other market sources this year." Compass Lexecon also had more "truly outstanding practitioners" than any other firm. Compass Lexecon experts Dennis Carlton, Janusz Ordover and Jonathan Orszag were recognized as three of the top five competition economists in North America, and Miguel de la Mano, Neil Dryden and Jorge Padilla were named as three of the top 10 in Europe.
The analysis of North American competition experts stated that Dennis Carlton is "a brilliant economist who is very good at explaining complex issues"; Janusz Ordover is "the number-one pick in the market"; Jonathan Orszag remains "a go-to name on complex antitrust matters that require acute economic and financial analysis"; Daniel Rubinfeld is deemed "an excellent economist"; Robert Willig is ranked as "one of the leading consultants in the US"; Richard Gilbert is "a widely known name in the field of antitrust, IP and US competition policy"; Jonathan Baker is "superb"; Margaret Guerin-Calvert "is very smart, commercial and easy to work with"; and Mark Israel stands out as a "leader in every respect."
Among Compass Lexecon's competition experts in Europe, sources described Miguel de la Mano as a "leader in the field"; Neil Dryden is praised as "a leading voice in international competition economics"; Jorge Padilla is recognized as "a go-to name on European competition policy"; Kirsten Edwards-Warren is described as "highly strategic, tireless, proactive and very user-friendly"; Lorenzo Coppi is recognized as a "strong analyst"; Thilo Klein is "a really brilliant economist"; Justin Coombs is "a specialist in economic regulation with over 25 years' experience"; and Enrique Andreu remains "a well-known name in the application of economic and econometric analysis"; Boaz Moselle is "an experienced testifying expert and is particularly well regarded for his work on international arbitrations concerning competition-related issues."
Who's Who Legal's also released a list of Future Leaders in competition economics. The list identified two Compass Lexecon experts: Andy Parkinson and Loren Smith. Loren Smith was named one of the most highly regarded future leaders in North America.
The Who's Who Legal awards are based on a proprietary methodology incorporating a number of factors, including general feedback received in a research process, past performance in the research and the overall aggregate number of weighted votes cast by clients, fellow economists and private practitioners around the world. While the Who's Who Legal awards have been presented since 2005, this is just the fourth time an award has been presented for Competition Economics Firm of the Year.

A new version of Compass Lexecon is available.